Desktop version

Home arrow Mathematics

  • Increase font
  • Decrease font

<<   CONTENTS   >>

General Facts About Colombia

Colombia is a country situated in northwestern South America. Colombia is bordered on the east by Venezuela and Brazil, on the south by Peru and Ecuador, on the northwest by Panama, also it is bordered on the north by the Atlantic Ocean and on the west by the Pacific Ocean.

Its area is 1,142,903 km2, and a maritime area of 988,000 km2. The country has a dispute on the boundaries with Venezuela and Nicaragua.

The Colombian population in 2015 was estimated at approximately 48 million living mainly in urban areas of the Andean region with a large concentration in Bogota, its capital.

The official language is Spanish, but indigenous languages are also recognized. The predominant religion is Roman Catholic.

In 1499, Alonso de Ojeda, made the first expedition to the current Colombia, the first steps to the Spanish colonization. Colombia was inhabited by various indigenous groups like the Chibchas, Noanamaes, Emberas and Baudoes. Later, the declaration of independence was signed (1810), although this independence process would end with the Battle of Boyaca in 1819. These events were decisive for the beginning of the Republic of Colombia. Simon Bolivar and Jose Maria Cordoba were some of the most prominent figures in the struggle for independence.

Today, Colombia is a democratic state with public power divided into executive, legislative and judicial branches.

The culture is nuanced by Spanish, African and indigenous influences, and their syncretism is expressed through the art, music, literature, food and customs.

The official currency of the country is the Colombian peso. Its economy depends, among other things, on the production of primary goods for exploitation, production for domestic consumption, oil production and mining. Colombia is also recognized for floriculture, minerals (particularly emeralds) and the large amount of fresh water.

It also has beautiful natural places like the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta, Sierra Nevada de Cocuy, Cano Cristal (also known as the River of 5 Colors), San Andres Island, the Cerros de Mavecure, Tequendama Falls and the Colombian Amazon Forest.

<<   CONTENTS   >>

Related topics